The Complete Guide to Floors and Paint
AMN Construction · Montecito and Santa Barbara South Coast · 17 sections plus local rules, a verify list and 37 sources
Start here
This guide is for AMN Construction crew members, from the first day to master level. It covers floor prep, installing and finishing floors, painting, and the lead, moisture and local rules that go with them. It is written in plain English and every point carries a confidence tag so you know how far to trust it. Research is current as of 2026-11-02.
- Paint coverage of 350 sq ft per gallon is a rule of thumb (unverified). The can label governs.
- 41 of the 63 tools are tagged unverified (the research added 30 of them from general trade knowledge). Steps and tips beyond cited numbers are crew practice.
- RRP lead-free exclusion text (40 CFR 745.82) was not opened; confirm it with EPA before skipping lead-safe work.
- Permit triggers, noise hours, MBAR review of a repaint and County code dates are not confirmed. See “Local rules at a glance”.
The flooring or paint maker’s instructions and the label govern over anything here. The approved plans, the building official and the lead rules override this site. Not engineering or legal advice.
Reading order: sections 1 and 2 first. Then follow your stage on the lesson plan. Math is in the math workbench and every tool is in the tools page.
1. Day 1: Safety, PPE and house rules
- [S] SourcedWear eye protection, gloves, hearing protection and a fitted half-face respirator with P100 filters for sanding and scraping [S4][S9] (established)
- [P] Crew practice[S] SourcedFacial hair breaks a respirator seal; do a seal check every time [S4] (established: program required; crew practice for the check)
- [S] SourcedCal/OSHA lead rules require respirators as interim protection for trigger tasks like manual scraping, heat guns and power sanding [S4] (established)
- [?] Unverified[P] Crew practiceLadders: set on level ground, three points of contact, never the top step (crew practice, unverified)
- [S] SourcedNever blow dust off surfaces; use a HEPA vacuum and damp cloths [S4][S8] (established)
- [?] UnverifiedOil-finish rags can self-heat; dispose of them per the label (verify) (unverified)
- [P] Crew practiceAsk before you start any task you were not shown (crew practice)
Check yourself
Why can't you blow dust off a surface?
It spreads dust and lead hazards; Cal/OSHA restricts compressed air and dry sweeping; use HEPA vac and damp wipe.
Which filter rating is required for lead filtering facepieces?
N100, R100 or P100.
What do you do if you are unsure how to use a tool?
Ask your lead before starting.
2. The trade, the license and who may do what
- [S] SourcedC-33 Painting and Decorating covers surface prep and applying paints, stains, varnishes and textures [S1] (established)
- [S] SourcedC-15 Flooring and Floor Covering covers prep and installing carpet, resilient sheet, resilient tile and wood floors, and finishing and repairing them [S1] (established)
- [S] SourcedCeramic tile is C-54, not C-15 [S1] (established)
- [?] Unverified[S] SourcedStructural subfloor repair is framing/carpentry; a B contractor may take a carpentry-only job [S1] (established); class number C-5 not confirmed (unverified)
- [S] SourcedA B needs two unrelated trades on a prime contract; framing and carpentry cannot be one of them [S1] (established)
- [C] ContestedWhether floors plus paint count as two unrelated trades is a judgment call; confirm with CSLB (contested)
- [S] SourcedCSLB wording: B General Building requires "at least two unrelated building trades or crafts"; B-2 Residential Remodeling requires "at least three unrelated building trades or crafts for a single contract" [S1] (established)
- [S] SourcedC-15 "prepares any surface for the installation of flooring"; C-33 "prepares by scraping, sandblasting or other means and applies" paints and coatings [S1] (established; a stand-alone floor-only or paint-only prime contract needs C-15 or C-33 (or a licensed sub))
- AMN Construction is CSLB 802739, Class B (customer brief)
3. Lead-safe work on pre-1978 homes
- [S] SourcedEPA RRP applies to paid work that disturbs paint in pre-1978 homes and child-occupied facilities [S3][S12] (established)
- [C] VerifyExempt only if lead-free is confirmed by inspection, risk assessment or an EPA-recognized test kit [S3] (S3 is a Minnesota state FAQ; the EPA page S12 does not show this exclusion or test kits, so verify with EPA)
- [S] SourcedFirm must be EPA-certified; a certified renovator (8-hour initial course; 5 years then refresher) is assigned to the job [S3] (established)
- [S] SourcedOwner must receive the pre-renovation pamphlet and sign-off is kept [S17] (established)
- [S] SourcedProhibited: open-flame burning; power tools without HEPA exhaust [S17] (established)
- [S] SourcedContainment: sheet the floor 6 ft past the work perimeter inside; 10 ft outside [S8][S10] (established)
- [S] Sourced40 CFR 745.85(a)(3): open-flame burning or torching of painted surfaces is prohibited; sanding or grinding only with a shroud or containment and a HEPA vacuum; heat guns only below 1,100 F [S24] (established)
- [S] SourcedFinish with cleaning and a verification step [S17] (established)
- [S] SourcedKeep records three years [S17] (established)
- [S] SourcedMinor repair and maintenance (40 CFR 745.83): 6 sq ft or less of painted surface per room inside, 20 sq ft or less outside, no window replacement or demolition, no prohibited practices; jobs in the same room within 30 days add together [S23] (established; check the current text for the HVAC, electrical and plumbing wording)
- [S] SourcedCleaning verification (745.85(b)): certified renovator visual check, then wipe sills and uncarpeted floors with disposable cloths against the verification card and re-clean on failure [S24] (established)
4. Cal/OSHA lead rules (8 CCR 1532.1)
- [S] SourcedPEL 10 ug/m3 8-hr TWA; action level 2 ug/m3 [S4] (established)
- [S] SourcedManual scraping and heat gun use are trigger tasks [S4] (established)
- [S] SourcedManual or power sanding with dust collection is presumed 10-50x PEL; power sanding without dust collection above 50x PEL [S4] (established)
- [S] SourcedWritten compliance program on site; reviewed at least every six months [S4] (established)
- [S] Sourced24-hour notice to Cal/OSHA before lead work unless an exception (for example under 100 sq or linear ft) applies [S4] (established)
- [S] SourcedTraining before first assignment and at least annually; records three years [S4] (established)
- [S] SourcedProtective clothing provided free; HEPA vacuums; no dry sweeping [S4] (established)
- [S] SourcedMedical surveillance applies at or above the action level or for trigger tasks [S4] (established)
Check yourself
PEL vs action level?
10 vs 2 ug/m3 under Cal/OSHA (federal OSHA is 50 and 30).
Who gets blood lead tests?
Workers at or above the action level or doing trigger tasks, with exceptions.
When is 24-hour notice not needed?
Exceptions apply, for example under 100 sq or linear ft of lead material [S4].
5. Dust control and containment
- [P] Crew practiceSeal ducts, cover doors, sheet floors, tape seams (crew practice, with EPA distances [S8])
- [S] SourcedNo visible dust outside the shroud or containment [S8] (established)
- [S] SourcedConnect every sander to a HEPA vacuum [S8][S5] (established)
- [S] SourcedClean at least 2 ft beyond the work area, high to low [S8] (established)
- [C] Contested[?] UnverifiedSilica rules apply to concrete and masonry work, not normal wood sanding; if you grind slab, check OSHA 3681 Table 1 [S9] (relevance contested; not confirmed for wood)
- [?] UnverifiedWood dust limits and Cal/OSHA wood-dust rules: not found (unverified)
Check yourself
What does the shroud do?
Captures dust at the source.
Which direction do you wipe?
High to low.
Who needs a HEPA vac connected?
Every sander on lead-risk surfaces.
6. Moisture and climate basics
- [S] SourcedRun HVAC steady for at least five days before materials arrive; room about 60-80 F and 30-50% RH, or the maker's range [S6] (established)
- [S] SourcedSubfloor MC within 2 pts of plank flooring or 4 pts of strip flooring [S6][S18] (established)
- [S] SourcedFlooring generally reads 6-9% MC; equilibrium MC is the real target [S6] (established)
- [S] SourcedSubfloor: 20 readings per 1,000 sq ft or at least 3 per room; flooring: 40 boards per 1,000 sq ft [S6] (established)
- [S] Sourced, secondaryConcrete: ASTM F2170 in-situ RH and ASTM F1869 calcium chloride are the named methods [S7] (secondary)
- [C] Contested[?] UnverifiedA vendor cites 75% RH or less for slabs; the flooring maker's limit governs [S7] (contested/unverified)
- [S] Sourced[C] ContestedSlab limits are product specific. One maker sheet allows internal RH of 99%, 95% (on or above grade) or 100% depending on the adhesive, and 93% with a particular underlayment; calcium chloride (MVER) limits of 14 lb or 7 lb per 1,000 sq ft per 24 h for some products [S22]. A vendor says 75% RH or less is typical [S7]. A trade article gives 3 lb per 1,000 sq ft per 24 h as a general goal [S36] (no single number; the flooring and adhesive maker sets the limit and the warranty)
- [S] Sourced, secondaryASTM F2170: probes at 40% of slab depth (one side drying) or 20% (both sides), 24 h to equilibrate, 3 tests for the first 1,000 sq ft and 1 more per extra 1,000 sq ft; ASTM F1869 takes 60 to 72 h; room at service conditions 48 h before testing [S7][S36] (vendor and trade press; the ASTM text was not opened)
- [?] UnverifiedCalcium chloride lb/1,000 sq ft threshold: not found
Check yourself
Plank vs strip moisture-gap limits?
2 pts and 4 pts.
What does a hygrometer measure?
Air temperature and relative humidity.
Climate range before install?
About 60-80 F and 30-50% RH for five days, or the maker's range.
7. Measuring and take-off for floors
- [S] ArithmeticArea = length x width; sum rectangles for L-shapes (arithmetic)
- [?] Unverified[P] Crew practiceAdd waste; 5-15% typical (crew practice, unverified); use calculators FL-01, FL-02
- [?] UnverifiedBoxes are sold whole; read sq ft per box on the label (verify)
- [?] UnverifiedLayout: boards in a row, last piece length (FL-05); minimum piece per maker (not found)
- [P] Crew practiceCheck straightness and flatness with a straightedge before install (crew practice)
- [P] Crew practiceKeep one lot together to avoid color mismatch (crew practice)
Check yourself
14 x 18 plus 10% rounded up?
278 sq ft.
Why round boxes up?
Cartons are sold whole.
Where do you get sq ft per box?
The carton label.
8. Subfloor prep and acclimation
- [P] Crew practiceClean, level and dry the subfloor before install (crew practice)
- [S] SourcedOpen and cross-stack boards with 3/4 to 1 in spacers if needed [S6] (established)
- [S] SourcedCheck subfloor moisture and flooring moisture gap [S6] (established)
- [?] Unverified[P] Crew practiceLeveling compound fixes lows; grinding fixes highs (crew practice; flatness tolerance per maker, not found)
- [P] Crew practiceUse maker-approved underlayment; do not overlap seams (crew practice)
- [?] Unverified[P] Crew practiceVapor retarders do not replace testing (crew practice, verify)
Check yourself
What spacers for stacking?
3/4 to 1 in stickers.
Does a vapor retarder replace a moisture test?
No.
Why check flatness?
Makers limit high and low spots; not found numerically here.
9. Installing wood, LVP and laminate
- [S] SourcedFollow the flooring maker's instructions; they govern (established principle)
- [C] Contested[S] Sourced, secondaryWall expansion gap: a trade-press quote of the NWFA guideline says to match the wood thickness (3/4 in solid gives 3/4 in) [S19]; one maker says at least 3/4 in or what the trim covers [S21]; a loose-lay plank maker says 1/8 in [S22]. An installer in the same article used 1/4 to 3/8 in as a compromise (contested; the NWFA text itself was not opened, so use the maker sheet for the job)
- [S] Sourced, secondaryNailing a 3/4 in solid strip under 3 in wide: 1 to 3 in from each end, then every 8 to 10 in when blind nailing [S20]; a maker sheet says strip every 8 to 10 in, plank every 6 to 8 in, ends 2 to 3 in [S21] (established for strip; plank over 3 in and engineered: use the maker sheet)
- [S] Sourced, secondaryConcrete subfloor flat to 1/8 in over 6 ft and 3/16 in over 10 ft; wood subfloor 13% MC or lower [S35] (trade press quoting NWFA; confirm in the maker sheet)
- [?] UnverifiedNail or staple per maker spacing (not found; verify)
- [P] Crew practiceStagger joints per maker (crew practice)
- [P] Crew practiceUndercut door jambs with a jamb saw so planks slide under (crew practice)
- [P] Crew practiceMix boxes while laying for even color (crew practice)
- [P] Crew practiceCheck floors for squeaks and gaps before the finish crew arrives (crew practice)
Check yourself
Where do you find the expansion gap?
In the flooring maker's instructions.
What tool cuts door jambs?
Undercut saw.
Where do you take fastener spacing from?
The maker's instructions.
10. Sanding and finishing wood floors
- [S] Sourced, secondaryTypical grit sequence: 36-40 then 60 then 80; screens/discs range 36-120 [S11] (secondary)
- [S] Sourced, secondaryNever skip grits; vacuum between passes [S11] (secondary)
- [P] Crew practiceDo not stop the drum on the floor [S11 context; crew practice]
- [S] SourcedOn pre-1978 homes sanding is covered by RRP (HEPA exhaust required) [S17] (established)
- [?] UnverifiedWaterborne finish: thin coats, follow label [verify]
- [C] Confirm[S] SourcedVOC limits: floor coatings 100 g/L; wood coatings 275 g/L; stains 250 g/L in SBCAPCD Rule 323.1 [S2]; the EPA Santa Barbara rule list shows 323.1 effective Jan 1, 2015 with no later version [S28]; the same values appear in CALGreen tables [S25][S26] (established; the district site was not reachable to confirm no newer amendment)
- [?] UnverifiedOil-finish rags can self-heat; dispose per label (verify)
- Use FL-06 to estimate gallons
11. Paint prep and surface repair
- [S] SourcedTest for lead first on pre-1978 homes [S3] (established)
- [P] Crew practiceScrape loose paint, fill with spackle in thin coats, sand, prime patches (crew practice)
- [P] Crew practiceClean grease and dust; deglaze gloss and use bonding primer (crew practice)
- [P] Crew practiceCaulk gaps with paintable caulk (crew practice)
- [P] Crew practiceStain-block primer over water stains (crew practice; product data sheet governs)
- [?] UnverifiedMask with painter's tape; remove while paint is soft per label [verify]
- Protect floors with cloth over poly
Check yourself
Why prime patches?
Flashing; patch absorbs differently.
What do you do first on a 1960s house?
Lead test or follow RRP.
What goes over water stains before paint?
Stain-blocking primer.
12. Paint products and coverage math
- [S] ArithmeticNet wall area = 2(L+W)H - openings (PT-01) [arithmetic]
- [?] UnverifiedGallons = area x coats / spread rate (PT-02); rate is on the label; 350 sq ft/gal is a common rule of thumb (unverified)
- [S] ArithmeticSpread rate = 1604 x volume solids (as a fraction, 0.40 for 40 percent) / dry mils (PT-03) [arithmetic]
- [S] ArithmeticDry mils = wet mils x volume solids (PT-04) [arithmetic]
- [S] SourcedFlat 50 g/L; nonflat 100 g/L; nonflat high gloss 150 g/L VOC limits [S2] (established; same values in CALGreen tables [S25])
- [S] SourcedPrimers/sealers/undercoaters 100 g/L [S2]
- [S] SourcedEvery container carries a VOC content in g/L and date code [S2] (established)
- [P] Crew practiceOrder from one batch to avoid mismatch (crew practice)
Check yourself
Net wall area of the example room?
365 sq ft.
Gallons for 365 sq ft, 2 coats, 350?
3.
Where does the true spread rate come from?
The can label or data sheet.
13. Applying paint: brush, roll, spray
- [P] Crew practiceCut in with an angled sash brush, loading about a third of the bristles (W2a/W2b crew practice)
- [P] Crew practiceRoll in a W pattern and keep a wet edge (crew practice)
- [?] UnverifiedMatch nap to texture (nap lengths: verify)
- [?] UnverifiedAirless spray: strain paint, test on cardboard, release pressure before service (verify)
- [P] Crew practiceBack-roll sprayed walls for texture match (crew practice)
- [P] Crew practiceMeasure wet film with a gauge before flash-off (crew practice)
- [P] Crew practiceNever point a spray gun at skin (crew practice)
Check yourself
What is a wet-edge?
Keeping the painted edge wet to avoid lap marks.
What do you do before servicing the sprayer?
Release pressure.
Why back-roll sprayed walls?
Matches texture and works paint into the surface.
14. Quality checks and the eight expensive failures
- [S] SourcedInstall over wet slab: cupping/adhesive failure; test RH (FL-04) [S7]
- [S] SourcedMoisture gap too large: gaps/buckling; meter test [S6]
- [S] SourcedSkipping acclimation: five days steady climate [S6]
- [S] SourcedRRP violation: pamphlet, certified renovator, containment, cleaning verification, records [S17]
- [P] Crew practicePainting over dust/grease/gloss: peeling (crew practice)
- Coverage estimate too low: do the take-off (PT-02)
- Film too thin: measure wet film (PT-04)
- [P] Crew practiceWrong grit sequence: scratches show under finish (crew practice)
- [P] Crew practicePunch list: walk the job under raking light with the owner (crew practice)
Check yourself
Name three failures from moisture.
Wet slab, large gap, no acclimation.
What check protects film thickness?
Wet-film gauge.
What proves RRP cleaning?
A cleaning verification record.
15. Montecito, County of Santa Barbara and City rules
- Montecito is unincorporated County; City of Santa Barbara is separate. Label which applies on every job (W4)
- [S] SourcedMontecito Fire defensible space Zone 0 (first 5 ft) hardscape, no bark or mulch [S14] (confirmed on page)
- [S] SourcedZone 1 within 30 ft; Zone 2 to 100 ft; grass cut to 4 in max [S14] (confirmed on page)
- [S] SourcedHome hardening: vents with 1/8-inch mesh; Home Hardening Assistance up to $10,000 [S14] (confirmed; eligibility unknown)
- [S] SourcedMontecito exterior color guidelines (MBAR): harmonious, recessive walls, muted hillside colors [S15] (confirmed in the 2016 guidelines)
- [?] UnverifiedWhether repainting needs MBAR review: unconfirmed; ask County Planning [S15]
- [?] UnverifiedCounty fire code 2025 update was a draft with a first reading Nov 18, 2025 and projected Jan 1, 2026 effective date; adoption not confirmed [S13] (unconfirmed)
- [S] SourcedSBCAPCD Rule 323.1 limits apply to coatings used in the district [S2]
- [?] UnverifiedNoise hours, stormwater/wash-water rules, coastal and hillside triggers: not found (unconfirmed)
Check yourself
Is Montecito in the City?
No, unincorporated County.
Is MBAR review for repaint confirmed?
No; ask Planning.
Where is the County's defensible-space Zone 0?
First 5 ft from the building [S14].
16. Codes: 2025 California codes, CALGreen, Title 24
- [S] SourcedThe 2025 California Building Standards Code was published July 1, 2025, effective Jan 1, 2026 [S16] (established)
- [S] SourcedParts include 2 CBC, 2.5 CRC, 6 Energy, 7 WUI, 9 Fire, 11 CALGreen [S16] (established)
- [S] SourcedStatewide effective date Jan 1, 2026; permit applications received on or before Dec 31, 2025 stay under the 2022 code, applications on or after Jan 1, 2026 use the 2025 code; local amendments to Title 24 must be ratified and filed [S29] (established; County and City local amendments not read)
- [S] SourcedCity of Santa Barbara adopted its 2025 code amendments on Dec 2, 2025 (CEQA notice posted Dec 9, 2025), including the WUI Code as a standalone code [S31] (established for the City, not for Montecito; effective date not stated)
- [S] Sourced, secondary[?] UnverifiedCALGreen Table 4.504.3 (architectural coatings) lists flat 50, nonflat 100, nonflat high gloss 150, floor 100, primers/sealers/undercoaters 100, stains 250, wood coatings 275, concrete/masonry sealers 100 g/L, derived from the CARB Feb 1, 2008 SCM [S25]; the 2025 edition table I could open was the Appendix A6.1 voluntary table with the same numbers [S26] (municipal copies of the 2016 edition; the 2025 Part 11 mandatory text was not opened, so confirm there)
- [S] SourcedCARB approved an updated architectural coatings SCM on May 23, 2019 (Resolution 19-14); it binds no one until an air district adopts it as a rule [S27] (established; category limits in the 2019 SCM were not read)
- [?] UnverifiedCounty adoption dates may differ: verify with County Building (unverified)
- [?] UnverifiedPermit triggers for painting or flooring: not found (unverified)
Check yourself
Effective date of 2025 edition?
January 1, 2026.
Which part is CALGreen?
Part 11.
Do County and State code dates always match?
No; verify.
17. Master topics: specification, moisture mitigation, coating science
- Read the technical data sheet: volume solids, dry film, recoat time (basis of PT-03/PT-04)
- [S] SourcedRecord moisture history; slab test method per ASTM F2170 / F1869 [S7]
- [?] UnverifiedVapor retarders and sealers: only maker-approved systems (verify)
- [S] SourcedVOC compliance: lowest limit applies when a product is recommended for multiple categories; thinning cannot exceed the limit [S2] (established)
- [S] SourcedWrite RRP and lead compliance program documents [S4][S17]
- [P] Crew practiceCoach: build a pre-job file, warranty record and cleaning verification package (crew practice)
Check yourself
Thinning and VOC?
Thinning cannot push the coating over its limit.
What governs slab limits?
The flooring maker's instructions.
What do you do when a vendor RH limit differs from the maker?
Follow the flooring maker's instruction.
Local rules at a glance
Confirmed (a source was read)
| Rule | Applies to | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2025 California Building Standards Code (Title 24) published July 1, 2025, effective Jan 1, 2026; parts include 2 CBC, 2.5 CRC, 6 Energy, 7 WUI, 9 Fire, 11 CALGreen | State (County/City adoption dates may differ) | S16 |
| Defensible space Zone 0 (first 5 ft) hardscape, no bark or mulch; Zone 1 within 30 ft; Zone 2 to 100 ft or property line, grass 4 in max | Montecito Fire District | S14 |
| Annual weed abatement (spring), inspection and corrective letter | Montecito Fire District | S14 |
| Home hardening guidance: vents with 1/8-inch mesh, clear gutters; Home Hardening Assistance up to $10,000 (eligibility not stated) | Montecito Fire District | S14 |
| Exterior color: harmonious, walls recessive, avoid high-reflectivity, hillside colors muted (2016 MBAR guidelines) | County (MBAR) | S15 |
| Coating VOC limits (flat 50, nonflat 100, high gloss 150, primers 100, stains 250, wood coatings 275, floor coatings 100 g/L); container labeling; lowest limit applies for multi-category products. 2014-adopted text; confirm current version | County APCD (SBCAPCD) | S2 |
| Federal EPA RRP and Cal/OSHA 8 CCR 1532.1 lead rules | Everywhere | S4, S17 |
Unconfirmed (not found): ask before you bid
- [?] UnverifiedCounty building code edition now in force and its effective date; County fire code 2025 (draft, first reading Nov 18, 2025, projected Jan 1, 2026; adoption not confirmed; Montecito not named) [S13].
- [?] UnverifiedChapter 7A (WUI exterior materials) applicability to repaint or flooring in Montecito or the City.
- [?] UnverifiedWhether repainting or a color change needs MBAR review (excerpt covers new construction, additions, replacement structures and signs; exemptions in MLUDC not read).
- [?] UnverifiedCounty or City permit triggers for painting, sanding, refinishing or new floor covering.
- [?] UnverifiedCoastal zone, hillside, grading and debris-flow triggers; noise limits and work hours; stormwater and wash-water rules; fees and inspection scheduling.
- [?] UnverifiedCity of Santa Barbara current code edition (only a title of Ordinance 5919 seen).
- [?] UnverifiedFire-district plan review for a remodel.
Contacts verified
- City of Santa Barbara Community Development, 630 Garden St., Santa Barbara, CA 93101, (805) 564-5485. Its permit-exemption checklist (updated 2/7/2023) lists "Interior painting, papering, and similar finish work" as exempt and does not name floor coverings [S30]. City only; the County has its own rules.
- Montecito Fire Protection District: (805) 969-7762; 595 San Ysidro Rd, Santa Barbara, CA 93108 [S14]. Defensible-space surveys through montecitofire.com.
- County Fire: Fred Tan, Fire Marshal (email not captured) [S13].
- County Planning and Development / MBAR and City of Santa Barbara Building: no phone or URL confirmed. Ask before bidding.
What to verify
Contested
- [C] ContestedWhether floors plus paint count as two unrelated trades for a B prime contract: judgment, confirm with CSLB.
- [S] SourcedHeat gun limit of 1,100 F: confirmed in 40 CFR 745.85 [S24].
- [C] ContestedSlab RH limit of 75%: one vendor figure [S7]; the flooring maker limit governs.
- [C] ContestedRespirable silica table (OSHA 3681) applies to concrete grinding; relevance to ordinary wood sanding is not confirmed [S9].
- [S] SourcedCal/OSHA 8 CCR 1532.3 (silica in construction): PEL 50 µg/m3 and action level 25 µg/m3 as 8-hour averages; applies to any respirable crystalline silica exposure, so grinding a slab or old cement patch is covered, sanding a wood floor is not [S34] (established)
- [S] Sourced[?] UnverifiedCal/OSHA 8 CCR 5155 Table AC-1 lists wood dust (all soft and hard woods except Western red cedar) at 2 mg/m3 PEL with a 5 mg/m3 short-term limit, and Western red cedar at 0.5 mg/m3 [S33] (the copy of the table read was garbled, so confirm the columns on dir.ca.gov)
Unverified or not found
- [?] Unverified or not foundManufacturer data point: Benjamin Moore Regal Select matte lists 400 to 450 sq ft per gallon, VOC under 50, dry to touch 1 h, recoat 1 to 2 h [S32]. Sherwin-Williams Duration Home page gave no coverage figure [S37]. Paint coverage of 350 to 400 sq ft per gallon is a rule of thumb. The can label governs.
- [?] Unverified or not foundWaste factor of 5 to 15% is crew practice, not a published rule.
- [?] Unverified or not foundLVP and laminate are not named in the C-15 text [S1]; structural subfloor repair class C-5 is not confirmed.
- [S] SourcedExterior doors and windows within 20 ft must be closed during RRP exterior work, per 40 CFR 745.85(a)(2) [S24].
- [?] Unverified or not foundMinimum piece length, and the NWFA text itself for expansion gap and fastener spacing (only trade-press quotes and maker sheets read): take from the flooring maker.
- [?] Unverified or not foundA single calcium chloride or RH threshold for wood flooring: none found; limits are set per product by the maker (see sourced items).
- [?] Unverified or not foundWhether SBCAPCD Rule 323.1 has been amended since 2015 (district rules page did not list it; phone (805) 961-8800 per ourair.org); CARB 2019 SCM category limits and the 2025 CALGreen Part 11 mandatory table not opened.
- [?] Unverified or not foundCALGreen flooring content, County adoption date of the 2025 codes, County permit triggers for painting and floor covering, noise hours: not found.
- [?] Unverified or not foundRRP and Cal/OSHA penalty amounts: not found.
- [?] Unverified or not foundTools: 30 of the 63 tools were added from general trade knowledge with no numbers and are tagged unverified; 41 tools in all carry the unverified tag.